Can I be Santiago from The Alchemist?

I read this somewhere, “Dreams are wishes with strong determination” and how true is that. We all have dreams. Dreams to achieve success & happiness. Some pursue their dreams like Santiago from The Alchemist. Just as Santiago had to go through so many hurdles to achieve, we all have to too.

These hurdles shape us. Once we cross them, they define us. Most of us fear to cross these hurdles, fearing what will we find on the other side. That’s a mystery for sure but something which pursuers want and hence it’s not a hindrance for them to follow their dreams.

This world knows us by how many bucks we earn. This world is judgemental and one thing is sure that our happiness DOESN’T depend on this world’s verdict of our stature. To be happy we have to earn in our means. Doing things we love & then the work will be in our blood. It’s not that each one of us follows their heart and get into the profession they want to.

Similarly, I am an IT professional. I like the work but my dream profession would be being a librarian. I know it seems crazy but that is what I had in my mind once I saw our college library. It was huge & filled with study books. Only a handful of novels were there.

I want to be a librarian and keep it full with novels & books. I want to read all those books by being there day & night. No need of anyone’s company or any other thing. I wish someone would give me money for reading books I like πŸ˜€

Life is a constant struggle and the struggle is on and hope that I can be a librarian for a day. I have started buying books and the count has increased this year more than before. I am not able to read much nowadays, neither blogs or books, but I will start both it all again sooner.

As I was talking to a WP friend yesterday, she said, “Finally, good days are here to stay.” I could not believe less. Good days are here to stay for all. With our dream profession, good days turn into happy & peaceful days too πŸ™‚

dreaming-boy

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

P.S.: Today’s pick is Six degrees of separation of The script πŸ™‚ You can like my Facebook pageΒ and stay updated with all my posts πŸ˜‰ Happy weekend ❀

27 thoughts on “Can I be Santiago from The Alchemist?

  1. Even I’ve wished to be a librarian. Just being surrounded by books, stacking them, looking at them and touching them gives me a high. It may seem crazy but I’m extreme bibliophile. I totally get your longing for books. Also try to make some time for reading by planing your day ahead.

    Also, I really don’t like the book Alchemist. I really wonder why people love that book so much. I was bored out of my witts while reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Since I am a reviewer, I can download books for free. However, I miss the look and feel of an actual book.

    “No need of anyone’s company or any other thing.” – No, I l crave human interaction and need lots of people in my life.

    ” I wish someone would give me money for reading books I like” – When you figure this out, PLEASE let me know!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We all crave human interaction but at times we feel that we can survive on our own without anybody’s interferance πŸ˜€ I was also reading eBooks lately but have again started reading paperbacks πŸ˜‰ and if I know about anyone paying me for reading books, you’ll be the first one I will contact πŸ˜€ Thanks, Jacqueline, for your time & comment πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Wonderful post, Darshith! Your dream profession really is an awesome one, indeed πŸ™‚ It really is heaven to be surrounded by books 360 degrees (not the theory ones o_O ). I can relate myself here, actually πŸ˜€ Reading novel after novel with no disturbance whatsoever can be incredible as well as therapeutic in many ways:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First of all, I love the Alchemist and Paulo Coelho ❀ It is just as easy to think, "I can" as it is to think, "I can't." Both attitudes are habitual orientations to life that can become automatic with practice. Neither attitude has as much to do with the task at hand as it does with the inner spirit of the person facing the task. In either case, the task is the same – only the attitude is different. You have a great attitude πŸ˜‰ I'll let you decide if you can be Santiago from the Alchemist πŸ˜‰

    "Remember that wherever your heart is, there you will find your treasure" Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

    Very nicely written post and song pick πŸ™‚ Happy Sunday πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

